Self Service Procurement

Get Involved. Join the Conversation.

Topic

    Judy Hamner
    Accounting Defaults re-setting when a Requisition is...
    Topic posted September 20, 2018 by Judy HamnerSilver Trophy: 7,500+ Points, tagged Approvals, Create Requisition, Requisition Processing 
    82 Views, 8 Comments
    Title:
    Accounting Defaults re-setting when a Requisition is re-assigned prior to validation
    Summary:
    If one user creates a requisition that defaults accounting based on user preferences and then assigns to another user, the defaults are over written by the new user's default preferences.
    Content:

    Situation:

    User One (Advanced Procurement Requester) Creates Requisition and Charge Account is created from default User Preferences and Category Name.

    User One saves and Closes the requisition.

    User One reassigns requisition to User Two (also Advanced Procurement Requester) who is a finance specialist to review for accuracy and completeness before submitting to approval workflow.

    User Two opens and reviews the requisition for completeness and accuracy.  Charge Account changes to User Two default User Preferences. 

    Why doesn't the saved funding from User One remain with the requisition when User Two opens the requisition to edit?  They would only need to edit if there is an error.

    Also, we have found this same situation occurs when a requisition is rejected in approval workflow.  If one default was used to create the requisition, but another is active when a rejected requisition is opened, the original funding is replaced.  This is causing a lot of rework by our users.

    Is this related to Security Roles?  Please advise.

    Judy

    Comment

     

    • Ashok

      Hi Judy

      What do you mean by 'Why doesn't the saved funding....' , specifically what is 'funding' in this context?

    • Judy Hamner

      Sorry for the confusion.  What I meant to say was the accounting distribution that was defaulted by User One doesn't save.  It gets overwritten by User Two's defaults after it is assigned.  Why doesn't the original accounting distribution remain when the requisition is opened by User Two?

       

      Judy

    • Ashok

      Judy

      It depends on how the TAB rules are defined and which rules are prioritized. In your instance, it appears (you have to verify and confirm this) that the User Preferences based defaulting is of the highest priority. So any time the requisition changes hands (and the new user has different preferences), the charge account will be re-derived based on those preferences. Given the little information here, this is my analysis. You can check this quite easily by having someone review your TAB setup (Transaction Account Builder). I have to assume you are familiar with the whitepaper that should help clarify what I have written as well.

    • Judy Hamner

      Thanks, Ashok.  To be honest, we did not make many changes to our TAB rules during implementation so I am not very well versed in this set up. Could you send me the whitepaper you are referring to as well as the navigation to the User Preferences so I can confirm how default settings?  I'm thinking you are correct in your assumptions, but I'm not entirely sure how to confirm. 

      Thanks,

      Judy

    • Ashok

      Judy

      Here is a document that introduces TAB and its concepts:

      https://cloudcustomerconnect.oracle.com/posts/9eea2d4ec1

      Here is the document that explains how to set the rules up and implement it:

      https://support.oracle.com/epmos/faces/DocumentDisplay?id=2168691.1

      Thanks

      Ashok

       

    • Judy Hamner

      Ashok,

      Thank you so much for this information.  You are always so very helpful.  I have attached a screen shots of the TAB rules.  The Purchasing Charge Account Rule was not modified during our implementation and the Requisition Charge Account is set with the highest priority.  Based on this, my logic is telling me that if the original requester uses their own user preferred account and doesn't specifically type in new values, the Requisition Charge Account is not applied.  Therefore, when the requisition is assigned to another user, there isn't a Requisition Charge Account and the second person's User Preferrred Account is applied.  

      Is that true?  Is there a way to allow the initial User Preferred Account to be maintained upon reassignment?

      Judy

    • Ashok

      Hi Judy

      Very kind.

      Yes, that is how it would work. What you should perhaps consider doing is set up detailed TAB rules to derive the accounts as per your requirements that is not dependent on the user preferences. The Whitepaper should provide you information on how to achieve that. Once you set up tab rules that have a higher priority than user preferences, you can reassign to any user it should use the same charge account.

    • Judy Hamner

      I'm working through the change to the TAB rule to make sure I am on the right path.  I found a document that indicated that using the condition "Requisition Charge Account"."All" is null means that a rule will be applied if the user did not manually enter a requisition charge account.  If I want the Requisition Charge Account to always be used, should this be the condition that is added?

      Judy